## **General Election Results - 12 August 1957**

General elections were held in British Guiana on 12 August 1957 for the 35-seat parliament under the "first past the post" system.

A total of 55 candidates contested the elections, including six independents.

The National Labour Front(NLF) was the only party to run a candidate in every Legislative Council seat, with the two factions of the People's Progressive Party (PPP) both contesting 13 seats.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) contested eight seats and the Guiana National Party one

The result was victory for the Jaganite faction of the People's Progressive Party (PPP) winning 9 of the 14 elected seats in the Legislative Council and 47.51% of the vote.

The Burnhamite faction of the PPP won 3 seats. The National Labour Front (NLF) and United Democratic Party (UDP) won one seat each.

Voter turnout was 55.79%.

After the elections, the Burnhamite faction of the PPP merged with the UDP to form the People's National Congress (PNC).

### **ELECTION SNAPSHOT**



#### **ELECTORAL SYSTEM**

First-past-the-post

14 elected seats

#### **VOTER** TURNOUT

Total Valid Votes	116,939
Invalid Votes	1,625
Total Votes Cast	118,564
Registered Voters	212,518
Voter Turnout	55.79%

#### **CRITICAL** DATES

Dissolution of House	-
Nomination Day	-
Polling Day	Mon, 12 Aug 1957
First Meeting of New Parliament	Tue, 10 Sep 1957

### **SUMMARY RESULTS**

Political Group	Code	Votes	% votes	Candidates	Seats
People's Progressive Party (Jaganite)	PPP(J)	55,552	47.51%	13	9

People's Progressive Party (Burnhamite)	PPP(B)	29,802	25.49%	13	3
National Labour Front	NLF	13,465	11.51%	14	1
United Democratic Party	UDP	9,564	8.18%	8	1
Guiana National Party	GNP	199	0.17%	1	-
Independent Candidates	IND	8,357	7.15%	6	-
<b>Total Valid Votes</b>		116,939	100%	55	14

# ELECTED MEMBERS

<b>Electoral District</b>	Candidate Elected	Party	Votes polled	Votes by candidate	%votes
1. Eastern Berbice	Dr. Cheddi Jagan	PPP (J)	18, 413	15, 640	84.9
2. New Amsterdam	William Oscar Rudyard Kendall	UDP	3, 088	1, 420	46
3. Berbice River	Ajodha Singh	PPP (J)	2, 983	1, 483	49.7
4. Western Berbice	Sheik Mohamed Saffee	PPP (J)	5, 992	2, 893	48.3
5. Eastern Demerara	Edward Balkaran Beharry	PPP (J)	11, 015	6, 689	60.7
6. Central Demerara	Balram Singh Rai	PPP (J)	14, 334	7, 125	49.7
7. Georgetown North	Andrew Leonard Jackson	PPP (B)	5, 881	2, 513	42.7
8. Georgetown Central	Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham	PPP (B)	6, 798	3, 570	52.6
9. Georgetown South	Jainarine Singh	PPP (B)	12, 257	6, 183	50.4
10. Demerara River	Fred Bowman	PPP (J)	12, 068	6, 245	51.8
11. Demerara – Essequibo	Ram Karran	PPP (J)	8, 954	5, 776	64.5
12. Essequibo River	Brindley Horatio Benn	PPP (J)	6, 883	2,842	41.3
13. Western Essequibo	Janet Jagan	PPP (J)	6, 703	3, 802	56.7
14. North Western District	Stephen Campbell	NLF	1,570	995	63.3