# **General Election Results - 27 April 1953**

General elections were held in British Guiana on 27 April 1953 for the 24-seat House of Assembly under the "first past the post" system. They were the first held under universal suffrage.

Constitutional reforms as a result of the Waddington Commission had led to the creation of the House of Assembly to replace the Legislative Council.

The new House had 28 members; 24 members elected in single member constituencies, a speaker appointed by the Governor and three ex officio members (the Chief Secretary, the Attorney General and the Financial Secretary).

The People's Progressive Party (PPP) ran candidates in 22 of the 24 constituencies, failing to contest the two interior constituencies due to a lack of money.

The National Democratic Party (NDP) contested 15 constituencies and the People's National Party (PNP) eight.

A total of 86 independents, including four United Guiana Party (UGP) candidates, also contested the elections. The United Workers and Farmers Party (UWFP) did run as a party, but contested some seats as independents.

The result was victory for the People's Progressive Party (PPP) winning 18 of the 24 seats in the Legislative Council and 51.04% of the vote.

The National Democratic Party (NDP) won 2 seats, and the remaining 4 seats went to independents.

Voter turnout was 74.77%.

### **Post-election Note**

On 9 October 1953, London suspended the colony's constitution. Following the suspension of the constitution, British Guiana was governed by an

## **ELECTION SNAPSHOT**



## **ELECTORAL SYSTEM**

First-past-the-post

24 elected seats

#### **VOTER** TURNOUT

Total Valid Votes	152,231
Invalid Votes	3,995
Total Votes Cast	156,226
Registered Voters	208,939
Voter Turnout	74.77%

#### **CRITICAL DATES**

Dissolution of House	Wed, 8 Apr 1953
Nomination Day	-
Polling Day	Mon, 27 Apr 1953
First Meeting of New Parliament	Mon, 18 May 1953

interim administration consisting of small group of conservative politicians, businessmen, and civil servants that lasted until 1957.

SUMMARY RESULTS					
<b>Political Group</b>	Code	Votes	% votes	Candidates	Seats
People's Progressive Party	PPP	77,695	51.04%	22	18
National Democratic Party	NDP	20,032	13.16%	16	2
Peoples National Party	PNP	3,000	1.97%	7	-
Independent Candidates	IND	51,504	33.83%	86	4
<b>Total Valid Votes</b>		152,231	100%	131	24

ELECTED MEMBERS					
No.	Constituency	Name	Party		
1	North West-District	William Alfred Phang	Independent		
2	Pomeroon	Thomas Sherwood Wheatling	Independent		
3	Western Essequibo	Janet Jagan (Deputy Speaker)	People's Progressive Party		
4	Essequibo Islands	Theophilus Lee	Independent		
5	Bartica & Interior	Eugene Francis Correia	National Democratic Party		
6	Demerara Essequibo	Fred Browman	People's Progressive Party		
7	West Bank Demerara	Jai Narine Singh	People's Progressive Party		
8	East Bank Demerara	Dr. Joseph Prayag Lachhmansingh	People's Progressive Party		
9	Upper Demerara River	Charles Albert Carter	Independent		
10	Georgetown South	Ashton Chase	People's Progressive Party		
11	Georgetown South-Central	Clinton Reginald Wong	People's Progressive Party		
12	Georgetown Central	Jessie Irma Sampson Burnham	People's Progressive Party		
13	Georgetown North	Frank Obermuller Van Sertima	People's Progressive Party		
14	Georgetown North-East	Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham	People's Progressive Party		
15	West Central Demerara	Ram Karran	People's Progressive Party		
16	Central Demerara	Sydney Evanson King (now Eusi Kwayana)	People's Progressive Party		

17	East Central Demerara	Jane Phillips-Gay	People's Progressive Party
18	Mahaica-Mahaicony	Chandra Sama Persaud	People's Progressive Party
19	West Berbice	Samuel Mahabali Latchmansingh	People's Progressive Party
20	New Amsterdam	William Oscar Rudyard Kendall	National Democratic Party
21	Berbice River	Adjodia Singh	People's Progressive Party
22	Eastern Berbice	Dr. Robert Stanley Hanoman Singh	People's Progressive Party
23	Corentyne Coast	Dr. Cheddi Jagan	People's Progressive Party
24	Corentyne River	Mohamed Khan	People's Progressive Party