Some geographic MPs not living in their areas

Some geographic MPs not living in their areas

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has published the official results of the March 2 General and Regional Elections (GRE) and named the various political representatives who will hold office for the next five years.

Notably while the Elections Act details that 25 of the 65 seats of the Assembly should be held by representatives of the 10 Geographical constituencies a significant number, 11, will be occupied by parliamentarians who are residents of constituency four when seven seats are allocated to that constituency.

According to the results the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) will hold 33 seats in the National Assembly of which 12 are Geographical seats and 21 are National top up seats.

Leave a Comment