In support of a transparent recount of ballots

In support of a transparent recount of ballots

Open letter to:

Justice Claudette Singh, Chair of GECOM;

Hon David Granger, Leader of APNU;

Hon Bharrat Jagdeo, Leader of the PPP;

Hon Prime Minister Mia Mottley, CARICOM Chair

We are all proud Guyanese wherever we now live.

The tabulation of votes in District Four on March 12/13th was not done in accordance with the law and the direct orders given by the Hon Chief Justice on March 11th. The results for that district have been assessed by all political parties except one, and by all accredited local, regional and international observers who were present, to be less than credible.

The swearing-in of a president based on that declaration of results of the 2020 General and Regional Elections overwhelmingly deemed to be flawed, should not be an option.

We support a full recount of all of the ballots cast in District Four (and all other districts that may have been called for), in a process managed with complete transparency by GECOM and under the scrutiny of agents of the contesting political parties and representatives of local, regional and international observer missions in an environment free of threats, be implemented as soon as possible. We are heartened by the consensus for the CARICOM offer to supervise the Region Four recount.

Yours faithfully,

Maj Gen Joseph Singh, former Chair of GECOM

Donald Rodney

Dr Ian McDonald, Writer

Vanda Radzik, Independent Social & Sustainable

Development Guyana Adviser

Rev Patricia Sheerattan-Bisnauth, Guyana

Presbyterian Church

Jean La Rose

Karen de Souza

Annette Arjoon-Martins, Businesswoman &

Environmental Activist

Ohene Koama

Patricia Fredericks, Independent Concerned


Abbyssinian Carto

Aisha Fraites, Professional & SRHR Advocate

Chelsea Fung, RED Entertainment

Saskia Wyngaarde, RED Entertainment

Dr Tulsi Dyal Singh, Entrepreneur

Professor Hollis France, University of Charleston

John Mair, former BBC Producer

Pauline Melville, Writer – Fellow of Royal Society of Literature

Rohit Kanhai

Professor Clem Seecharan, Emeritus Professor of

History, London Metropolitan University

Professor David Dabydeen, Emeritus Professor of Literature, Warwick University

Professor Alissa Trotz, University of Toronto

Professor Maya Trotz, University of South Florida

Professor Percy Hintzen, Florida International University

Faiyaz Alli, Businessman and social activist

Imran McSood Amjad, ACII, Chartered Insurer

Patsy Downey, concerned Guyanese

Simone Mangal-Joly, former elections observer

Oscar Ramjeet, Attorney/Journalist

Dr Dave Gobin Singh, GP

Dr Elena A Singh, GP

Dr Ravi Gupta

Dr Melanie Gupta

Sanjay Gupta, Barrister

Roland Rampat, Businessman

Anthony Ramsamooj, General Secretary of CISCA

Mohammed Khan, retired Auditor

Leave a Comment